Friday, June 03, 2005

Online program coming June 16th

Online Programming for All Libraries (OPAL) is offering a session called "One for the Ages: Marketing Libraries to Baby Boomers and the Greatest Generation." Here's the program description as posted on their web page:

"Speakers include Barbara Mates, Head, Cleveland Public Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped and Sharon Ruda, Director, Illinois State Library Talking Book and Braille Service. Barbara Mates has won several ALA awards for her excellent work in serving the senior population and has written a number of books and articles on the topic. This event is scheduled to last two hours."

Times are 10:00 a.m. Eastern, 9:00 a.m. Central, 8:00 a.m.Mountain, 7:00 a.m. Pacific, and 2:00 p.m. GMT Thursday June 16th.

1 comment:

Caryn Lazar Amster said...

As a marketing consultant for over 25 years and the author of a new self--published true crime family memoir, I am giving talks that baby boomer library patrons really love. I speak on "Telling and Selling Your Own Family Story". A recent study showed that over 80% of people feel they have a book inside them. I show them how to tell the story and the right marketing angles to use to promote and sell it. For more information on the talk visit the Calendar of Events page at
Caryn Lazar Amster